The present publication is preparated with the support of the European Union. Responsibility for the content of this publication is borne solely by the Municipality of Malko Tarnovo and "Development Foundation of Malko Tarnovo town" and in any case it cannot be considered that the content of the current publication reflects the opinion of the European Union.
Brashlyan village
A typical Strandzha house
A typical Strandzha house

The village of Brashlyan is situated 15 km away to the north-west from Malko Tarnovo town and 64 km away from the town of Bourgas, 240 m altitude. The village is nestled against the attractive valley overgrown with oak- and beech-trees forests. In the region are located mythical meadows burning bush-claded connected to the belief of its healing power during curtain time of the year.

The contemporary settlement dated back from the end of XVII century and the beginning of XVII century. Before that the inhabitants were spread in several cottagers’ settlements – Zhivak, Selishte, Yurta and other. The present location is chosen because it has been natural protected from the surrounding heights and there were natural water springs.

The old name of the village is Sarmashik and the present name is its literal translation. Under the name of Sarmashik is mentioned in the Ottomans registers from the second half of XVII century and in the tax register of kaza (region) Anchialo (present Pomorie town). During XIX century the village is a large cattle-breeding center.

The village of Brashlyan has a heroic historical past in the years of the ottoman’s slavery. The inhabitants of the village have given a great number of victims as in the Greek national-liberation movement in 1821 year, as during the Preobrazhensko uprising in 1903 year. Here is the scene of the famous “Sarmashishka” affair in which are given the first victims of the uprising. On the second of April 1903 year surrounded by the ottoman’s army in the house of Balyu met their death the chieftain Pano Angelov and the rebel Nikola Ravashola. The village and the heroes are described in a song transformed in a hymn of Strandzha region. The author of the song is the chieftain Yani Popov of Lozengrad region.

In 1982 year the village is annouced for an architectural reserve. 76 from the houses in it are monuments of the culture and are typical representatives of the Strandzha architecture from XVIII and XIX century.

Here the ancient inhabitants of the mountain – the Thracians left their traces. In the vicinities of the village there are dolmens, mound necropolises and remains from an ancient settlement. It is considered that in the village of Brashlyan were the sanctuaries of the god of fertility and wine Dionysius, honoured with by the Thracians and Zeus the thunderer. The place on which is built the church “St. Dimitar” in the antiquity has been a sanctuary.

The old people remember and tell how in the area of Boriloto has been the only spring of the village of Brashlyan and how its inhabitants have been coming with copper utensils for water. The small spring enchanting in a picturesque and cool place amidst 160 beech-trees is restored and gives coolness with its chilly water.

The feast-day of the village is celebrated on St. Panteley’s day (9th of August).

Interesting visiting places:

  • Church “St. Dimitar”, a representative of a before Bulgarian revival cult architecture
  • Restored monastery school
  • Ethnographic collection exhibition
  • Museum in a open wide of the traditional farming from the Revival epoch
  • Chapel “St. Panteleymon” built in 1875 year situated to the east from the village, restored in 1996 year.
  • Chapel “St. Marina” called by the locals “small church”
  • Chapel “St. Petka” – in the past there is a small church
  • Tourist shelters in the areas of Dvata vrisa and Boriloto
Church “St. Dimitar”, and the belonging monastery school
Church “St. Dimitar”, and the belonging monastery school
Last updated: 26.04.2006